← Back to overview

Duplicating a Task is here

Much awaited feature request to copy and move tasks was just launched. You can duplicate tasks within Freedcamp! For premium plans we have also added the ability to copy a task into another project.

What is supported?

– Subtasks – copied. All notes below equally apply to premium subtasks as well.
– Created By – always copied regardless if a creator is in a target project or not.
– Created Date/Time – always the same as a source task so we don’t end up with date completed less than date created.
– Due Date
– Assigned To – removed if a user is not in the target project or have a read-only or guest profile. Also, all assignees in a task or its subtasks will get notified about new task/subtask assigned.
– Priority
– Start Date
– Completed Date
– Progress as % completion – yep we have this option on Freedcamp Business.
– Files – since we support file versions we decided to copy the last file version only. Comments for files attached to tasks and posted in Files application, if you use them, are not copied.
– Custom Fields – copied if same custom fields are enabled for a target project.
– Link to a milestone – not copied.
– Subscribers/followers – copied if part of a target project.
– Comments – copied as well as files attached to those comments.
– Dependencies – Business plan users can set dependencies. We only copy dependencies between tasks and subtasks copied.

If a task and/or subtasks have files attached copy process is completed in the background and you receive an email when completed. It should not take more than 2 minutes. If no attached files – you have a new copy instantly ready.

We will be adding an ability to copy subtasks next week.

Next steps?

– copy task list in the same (all plans) or another project (all premium plans) – end of March
– move tasks and task lists to another project (all premium plans) – early April

Start your next project in two minutes

Freedcamp is free for unlimited projects, tasks and users. No credit card, no trial clock.

Comments

14

  1. Charlie March 26, 2018

    Why only premium plans? This should be available across the board. So disappointed.

    • Copy in the same project – all plans
      Copy to another project – only premium plans.

      More people subscribe – more resources we have to push certain premium features to the free plan. Thanks for understanding.

  2. Shellie March 27, 2018

    This is terrific! Thank you 🙂

  3. Heidi Shaw March 27, 2018

    This addition is a time (life!) saver! Thank you so much! I appreciate that the basic service is free.

  4. Great work! Thank your very much for this essential feature. Looking forward to the next stages. Where do I find the mentionned “Progress as % completion” option?

    • Hi Tamas,

      Currently can be set and seen only on Gantt chart (Business and Enterprise plans), but we plan to add it so you can see it in tasks view or a task page.

  5. When will the copy an entire task list be ready?

  6. The steps are too complicated for setting up a duplicate task, can we have a video or a call or screenshots

    • Hi,

      Please tell us what is too complicated. You click copy icon near a task or a task list and copy it. If you are on or part of a paid plan you can select another project and either copy or move to it.

  7. You said you can move tasks between projects on premium plans? Which are the premium ones? I’m on Lite right now.

    • Hi,

      Premium = paid plans. The Lite plan is a premium plan.

      Please make sure that you move tasks from a project you own as it is possible that despite being on the Lite plan someone invited you to their project and that user is on the Free plan.
      You can check project group ownership on Manage System page. If you have questions – please email help@freedcamp.com and mention your account (email) and a project names you want to move from and to.

      Regards,
      Igor

  8. How do we remove a files from the new version of a copied task list? “Delete” is grayed out.